Essays · Uncategorized

My Front Door Never Closes

To be a man of the road is to host the entire world in your house; For the world is your house.

To be a man of the road is to pay rent to the entire world; For you are in the world’s house.

And so on it goes, until we reach a universe level. With this level comes a saying. Many sayings, actually, but this quote from Winston Churchill sums them up pretty well:

“We make a living by what we get, we make a life by what we give.”

I’ve been contemplating lately what it would mean to travel with as much frugality as I would like. Without the necessary funds or resources of my own, I would have to trade with someone along the way for these resources. This already happens literally every second in the modern world: It’s called working.

I have a job, and have had a job, so I have no problem with this. What I have a problem with is that no line of work pays well enough (except for travel journalism/blogging) to let you work and travel. You can volunteer, yes, and that’s wonderful. But it’s not sustainable for a single person, not without a job or intricate pay cycle-scheme-thing. Or so one thinks.

I know pretty much everyone in my life doesn’t believe that you can travel sustainably without money. Well, I have one answer for them: Be a volunteer for the world. You don’t have to go on websites or get official approval to work for another person. To help others in need, or those who just need a little help.

Pay rent to the world, and the world will provide a home: Itself.

 

Leave a Reply

