Essays

Hawaii, maybe?

First off, I’d like to apologize to any regular readers. I’ve been busy with many things, but not in a bad way at all. In fact, it’s because I got a job! I’ve been interviewing, doing orientation, and working, of course, so I haven’t had the time to update the blog.

My official job description is, wait for it…DISHWASHER!!! Exciting, I know.

In all seriousness, I am part of the kitchen staff at Mission Health Services in Lindon, Utah. I wash dishes, serve food, set tables, all kinds of stuff.

Now, how is this related to Nickadee Traveling? Well, Mission is always opening new care centers and spreading their services. In 2018, they are opening a care center in Maui, Hawaii. And I intend to go with them.

I’d have to start working full time, because Hawaii is really expensive to live in, but I wouldn’t mind that at all. I love my job already, and if I could continue performing my duties in Hawaii? Sign me up right now!

It would seem like an unconventional way of traveling at first. You know, a person moving just so they can wash dishes. But people move for their jobs all the time, and if I could become a CNA or even the equivalent of a kitchen manager (whatever that is for Mission), I don’t see why not.

I took this job to make money so I could travel and help. If I can get a position in Hawaii, I can get paid to do both.

Everything happens for a reason.

-Thomas

One thought on “Hawaii, maybe?

Leave a Reply

